The Truth Behind Ghost Hunting

A couple months ago, I was listening to Nowhere to Run with Chris White and he mentioned that making a video on some ghost hunting shows him and his wife watched would be a great evangelistic tool. Needless to say, I was inspired by it and decided to take it on. Now I’ve never made a video before and took some time doing it but I didn’t want to wait forever so I settled at a certain point so I can get it out there. I have no idea if it’s any good, but my hope was to at least have a video up on youtube and elsewhere that tackles this topic of ghosts from a biblical perspective. The research for the video forced me to dive into the bible deeper than I’ve ever done before and it was a blessing, but this video probably goes into only 25% of the stuff I found. I will probably make a couple more of this topic to really get into what scripture has to say about it. But in the meantime, I wanted to get it up to get feedback and constructive criticism so that I can take that into the next videos I make on the topic.

Here’s the video:

Thanks for taking time to check it out and to check out my blog. It’s been really cool to dialogue with people about some of these topics and I hope to do so more and more as we all try to figure out what it means to love Jesus and love other people.

4 responses to “The Truth Behind Ghost Hunting

  1. D April 27, 2011 at 2:55 pm

    I think you did a great job! I’d say that you addressed one of the major “fundamentals” of understanding the deception related to ghost hunting. Their false categorization of the various kinds of hauntings (since they don’t believe scripture) is definitely the primary false teaching that these shows propogate. When you do start to understand what the Bible says about all this, it’s easy to start to see how often these false spirits use the tried-and-true “good cop, bad cop” routine. They are usually more than willing to occasionally allow a spirit to be “exposed” as blatantly demonic, if it aids in the overall message that some of the other spirits are merely human and harmless…

    Hope you continue on with the project…

  2. Frank April 27, 2011 at 3:15 pm

    Haven’t watched the vid, yet, but I will.

    Its good to see someone taking this on, so many people watch this junk, and few Christians know anything about it, much less have any way to show people its a lie.

    • Frank April 28, 2011 at 8:41 pm

      Watched the video, great job! I’d like to see more of these, and hope this can reach those who need it.

      • facelikethesun April 28, 2011 at 8:47 pm

        Thanks Frank,

        Working on a second one with more of an emphasis on necromancy which is basically what these guys are doing. There are other shows which are much more blatant and obvious when it comes to summoning spirits. 1 Samuel 28 comes to mind as well as Mark 5 when Jesus heals the demon possessed man. I hope to include both those accounts in the next video.

Leave a Reply

